Rock Band DLC: Journey, Pat Benatar and ... SpongeBob SquarePants?

by: Cyril -
More On: Rock Band 2
Talk about variety.  This week's Rock Band downloadable songs really runs the gamut, from rock classics to, well, SpongeBob SquarePants.  The classic rock part of the DLC shouldn't come as much of a surprise, observant Rock Band fans probably saw (or at least heard of) the videos from the GDC Rock Band party where they played both Journey's "Don't Stop Believing" and Pat Benatar's other big hit, "Heartbreaker".  What we didn't know is that we would also be getting a song from newer acts Glasvegas and Von Bondies.  I'm especially partial to the Von Bondies song, which doubles for Rescue Me's theme song.

And what we really, REALLY didn't know was that we would be getting a three pack of songs from SpongeBob SquarePants.  Now, I haven't ruled out that this is just an elaborate April Fool's Joke (April 1st does land right between the Xbox 360 DLC launch and the PSN DLC launch).  Then again, that's what they said about GLaDOS' Portal a year ago (almost to the day).  The good news is that these kid-friendly tracks are only a buck each.  You can also buy them in a three-pack ... but there's no real savings there.  Journey, Pat Benatar, Von Bondies and Glasvegas are all the normal $2 (160 Microsoft Points), no package deal for them.  If you hit the jump you can see videos for each and every one of these songs.  Here is a list of exactly what will be out on March 31/April 2.

Rock Band DLC - Week of March 31, 2009:
  • Journey - "Don't Stop Believing"
  • Pat Benatar - "Heartbreaker"
  • Glasvegas - "Geraldine"
  • Von Bondies - "C'Mon C'Mon"
  • SpongeBob SquarePants - "I Can't Keep My Eyes Off of You"
  • SpongeBob SquarePants - "The Best Day Ever"
  • SpongeBob SquarePants - "Where's Gary?"

comments powered by Disqus