Rock Band 2 DLC - New tracks to satiate your musical desires

by: Tina -
More On: Rock Band 2
I’m pretty sure we all know the deal on Rock Band 2. Sort of the Guitar Hero killer to some gamers, the competitor ups the ante this coming September by adding new tracks as DLC on the 360, PS3, Wii, and PSP as announced by developer Harmonix and publisher MTV Games.

The new tracks for the Wii are already available as of the 25th of August, including some Tom Petty, Billy Idol, Jet, tons of Judas Priest and various others. Featured tracks for the 360 and PS3, available September 1st and 3rd respectively, will include Oasis, Rage Against the Machine, and five songs from Talking Heads. New additions don’t exclude Rock Band Unplugged for the PSP, either. Franz Ferdinand and Guns N’ Roses will be offered for PSP gamers on the 3rd of September.

All songs will be available as individual tracks or, for Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owners, under Talking Heads Pack 01. This is all good and well, but I’d be more interested to see some creativity with the songs. Maybe some fun and hectic electronic music – I know it’s not necessarily appropriate considering the instruments, but it IS a video game. Something like the bonus track “Less Talk More Rokk” by Freezepop on Guitar Hero 2, which I thought was fun times if not a bit repetitive.

Full song list for Rock Band here.

Plus tracks from Tom Petty, Billy Idol and Fleetwood Mac for Wii and
Franz Ferdinand and Guns N’ Roses for Rock Band Unplugged!

Cambridge, Mass. – Aug. 28, 2009 - Harmonix and MTV Games today
announced that a five pack of songs from new wave rockers Talking
Heads, as well as singles from Avenged Sevenfold, The Jam, Oasis and
Rage Against the Machine will be available in the Rock Band Music
Store of downloadable content next week for the Xbox 360® video game
and entertainment system from Microsoft and PLAYSTATION®3 computer
entertainment system.

Additional tracks from Tom Petty, Billy Idol, Fleetwood Mac and Judas
Priest will be available in the Wii™ Rock Band Music Store bringing
the number of downloadable tracks for Wii to 647, and tracks from Guns
N’ Roses and Franz Ferdinand will be available for download for Rock
Band Unplugged on PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) system.

Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360 and PLAYSTATION 3 System
Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Talking Heads add an additional five
downloadable tracks to Rock Band, joining the already available
“Psycho Killer.” The five-pack spans a good deal of Talking Heads’
career, including “Take Me to the River” from the band’s second album,
More Songs About Buildings and Food; “Crosseyed & Painless” and “Once
in a Lifetime” from the band’s fourth studio album, Remain in Light;
“Girlfriend is Better” from the band’s fifth album, Speaking in
Tongues; and “And She Was” from the band’s sixth album, Little
Creatures. Additionally, singles from Avenged Sevenfold, The Jam,
Oasis and Rage Against the Machine will be available in the Rock Band
Music Store next week.

Tracks available on Xbox 360 (Sept. 1) and PLAYSTATION 3 system (Sept. 3):

· Avenged Sevenfold – “Bat Country”

· The Jam – “A Town Called Malice”

· The Jam – “Going Underground”

· Oasis – “Supersonic” (Live)

· Rage Against the Machine – “Guerilla Radio”

· Talking Heads – “And She Was”

· Talking Heads – “Crosseyed & Painless”

· Talking Heads – “Girlfriend is Better”

· Talking Heads – “Once in a Lifetime”

· Talking Heads – “Take Me to the River”

(All tracks are original master recordings)

These tracks will be available for purchase as Talking Heads Pack 01
and as individual tracks on Xbox 360 and PLAYSTATION 3 system.

Price: $1.99 USD, £.99 UK , €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points
for Xbox 360) per track
$8.49 USD, £5.25 UK , €6.59 EU (680 Microsoft
Points for Xbox 360) for Talking Heads Pack 01

Wii Additions

American rocker Tom Petty breaks onto Rock Band for Wii next week
with two of his biggest solo hits, “I Won’t Back Down” and “Runnin’
Down a Dream,” both from his 5x platinum 1989 album, Full Moon Fever.
This was Petty’s first solo album, after parting with The
Heartbreakers; it reached No. 3 on the Billboard 200. Classic rockers
Fleetwood Mac and English rocker Billy Idol return to Rock Band, as
well as Australian rockers Jet with, “She’s a Genius,” from the band’s
new album, Shaka Rock, which hit shelves Aug. 25. Back-catalog tracks
from Judas Priest and The Pretenders will also be available in the Wii
Rock Band Music Store next week. These tracks come from the catalog of
Rock Band music already released to owners of Xbox 360 and PLAYSTATION
3 system. With the addition of these tracks, there are now more than
647 tracks in the Wii Rock Band Music Store.

Additional tracks available for Wii (Aug. 25):

· Billy Idol – “Mony Mony”

· Billy Idol – “Rebel Yell”

· Fleetwood Mac – “Don’t Stop”

· Fleetwood Mac – “World Turning”

· Jet – “She’s a Genius”

· Tom Petty – “I Won’t Back Down”

· Tom Petty – “Runnin’ Down a Dream”

· Bare Naked Ladies – “Hanukkah Blessings” *

· Billy Squier – “Christmas is the Time” *

· Judas Priest – “(Take These) Chains”

· Judas Priest – “Bloodstone”

· Judas Priest – “Devil’s Child”

· Judas Priest – “Fever”

· Judas Priest – “Pain & Pleasure”

· Judas Priest – “Riding on the Wind”

· Judas Priest – “Screaming for Vengeance”

· Judas Priest – “The Hellion/Electric Eye”

· Judas Priest – “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’”

· Nikko – “Break My Heart” *

· Nikko – “Don’t Tell Me” *

· Pretenders – “Blue Christmas” *

· Pretenders – “Precious”

Price: $2.00 USD (200 Wii Points) per track
*Denotes $1.00 (100 Wii Points) per track

Rock Band Unplugged Tracks for PSP®System

Rock Band Unplugged fans will enjoy the addition of Franz Ferdinand’s
“Lucid Dreams” and Guns N’ Roses’ “Riad N’ The Bedouins” to the 35
tracks already available via the Rock Band Unplugged in-game music
store for the PSP system.

Tracks available for Rock Band Unplugged (Sept. 3):

Franz Ferdinand – “Lucid Dreams”
Guns N’ Roses – “Riad N’ The Bedouins”

Price: $1.99, £.99 UK , €1.49 EU per track on the PSP system

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **
comments powered by Disqus