Grateful Dead and The Smithereens tracks on Rock Band next week

by: Tina -
More On: Rock Band 2 LEGO Rock Band
Two artists will be contributing more musical addition to the Rock Band Network next week. Jerry Garcia’s Grateful Dead make a return with six new tracks, while The Smithereens make their debut with two.

Read on for pricing and track details, and log in on May 18th to download the new tracks on all three available systems.
Cambridge, Mass. – May 14, 2010 – Harmonix and MTV Games today announced that a six pack of songs from the legendary Grateful Dead, as well as singles from The Smithereens, will be available next week in the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii™.

With more than 400 artists, including Jimi Hendrix, The Who, AC/DC and Green Day, who are exclusive to Rock Band, as well as more than 1,100 songs available through the Rock Band platform and 65 million songs sold through its download store alone, Rock Band is the undisputed sales and content leader in the interactive music space, providing the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums.
Rock Band DLC additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 system and Wii
Six songs from the quintessential jam band, Grateful Dead, will be added to the Rock Band Music Library next week, with “Beat It on Down the Line,” “Cumberland Blues,” “Scarlet Begonias,” “Throwing Stones,” “Touch of Grey” and “U.S. Blues.” This brings the number of Grateful Dead tracks in Rock Band to a whopping 19. Grateful Dead formed in 1965 in San Francisco and had one of the most long-ranging and successful touring careers in rock history, fueled by their followers, “Deadheads.” The band, led by Jerry Garcia, exhibited influences of jazz, rock, bluegrass and blues, among other musical stylings, and was named one of Rolling Stone’s “The Greatest Artists of All Time.”

American rockers The Smithereens make their Rock Band debut next week. The band is offering up “A Girl Like You” from 1989’s 11 and “Only a Memory” from 1988’s Green Thoughts. The Smithereens are working on a new album, due out later this year.

Available on Xbox 360, Wii and PlayStation 3 system (May 18):

· Grateful Dead – “Beat It on Down the Line” +

· Grateful Dead – “Cumberland Blues” +

· Grateful Dead – “Scarlet Begonias” +

· Grateful Dead – “Throwing Stones”

· Grateful Dead – “Touch of Grey” +

· Grateful Dead – “U.S. Blues” +

· The Smithereens – “A Girl Like You”

· The Smithereens – “Only a Memory” +

(All tracks are original master recordings)

(These tracks will be available in Europe on PlayStation 3 May 19)

These tracks will be available for purchase as “Grateful Dead Pack 03,”as well as individual tracks on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 system, and as individual tracks only on Wii. Tracks marked with “+” are also available for download in the family-friendly LEGO® Rock Band Music Store.
Price: $1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track
$9.99, £4.99 UK, €7.99 EU (800 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) for “Grateful Dead Pack 03”
$2.00 USD (200 Wii Points™) per track
comments powered by Disqus