Gran Turismo Creator Makes Motor Trend's 2007 Power List

by: Randy -
More On:
Famed Gran Turismo creator Kazunori Yamauchi is selected to Motor Trend magazine's 2007 Power List.  Which should be no surprise to those keeping score:  This is his third straight year in those luminous rankings.  The entire list is spelled out in the February 2007 issue of Motor Trend (which hit newstands this past Tuesday), and Yamauchi outpaced such automotive big dogs as Jean Todt (Ferrari CEO) and Takeo Fukui (Honda CEO).  And he's also the only videogame industry personality even on the list.  Congratulations are definitely in order.
Famed Gran Turismo Creator (Kazunori Yamauchi) Selected To Motor Trend’s 2007 Power List


Kazunori Yamauchi, famed creator of the Gran Turismo™ racing series for the PlayStation® platforms has been selected to Motor Trend’s annual Top 50 power list.  This is the third straight year that he has been selected and once again, he is the only videogame industry personality to make the list.  Furthermore, Yamauchi was placed ahead of such automotive luminaries that include Jean Todt (Ferrari CEO) and Takeo Fukui (Honda CEO).


The complete list of this year's top 50 Power List rankings can be found in the February 2007 issue of Motor Trend on newsstands January 2, 2007.  The editor’s selections run the gamut, from top executives and designers, to celebrities and individuals that are helping to shape the next generation of auto enthusiasts.  Motor Trend's 2007 Power List ranks these players by influence and impact on the automotive landscape and highlights the significant contributions that earned them a place on the list.

The following is the top ten list of Motor Trend's 50 rankings for 2007:
#1 Fujio Cho – Toyota Motors Corporation Chairman          
#2 Rick Wagoner – General Motors Chairman

#3 Ferdinand Piëch – Volkswagen AG Supervisory                                  
#4 Wendelin Wiedeking – Porsche AG – Executive Board Chairman, CEO

#5 Chris Bangle – BMW Design Group chief

#6 Jim Press – Toyota Motor Manufacturing America president

#7 Bob Lutz – GM Vice Chairman, Global Product Development

#8 Martin Winterkorn – Volkswagen AG Chairman                    

#9 Carlos Ghosn – Nissan Motors Corporation and Renault president and CEO

#10 Dieter Zetsche – DaimlerChrysler Chairman    


Additional personalities of note on the Power List (including Yamauchi):
#11 Don Esmond – Rookie of the Year – Toyota Motor Sales Senior Vice President,    Automotive Operations

#17 Alan Mullaly – Ford Motor Company Chief Executive Officer

#24 Bryan Nesbitt – GM Europe Design Chief
#29 Kazunori Yamauchi – Sony Computer Entertainment, Gran Turismo 4 Designer

#30 Takeo Fukui – Honda CEO

#31 Jean Todt – Ferrari CEO

#48 Jay Leno – NBC “Tonight Show” Host, Car Enthusiast

#50 Chip Foose – Hot Rod Designer, Reality Television Star
comments powered by Disqus