Rock Band prescribes Motley Crue's Dr. Feelgood

by: Randy -
More On: Rock Band 2
Motley Crue's #1-selling album, Dr. Feelgood, is the sixth album to join the Rock Band Music Store's downloadable content.  This 1989 headbanger is available starting October 14th for Xbox 360, and October 16th for PlayStation 3.  I love the All Music Guide's summation of Motley Crue:  "[Their] albums were a lot like episodes of Married With Children in the sense that they may not be great works of art but can be darn entertaining."  Brilliant.  The full 16-track album will be available for $15.99 (1280 Microsoft "space bucks") or $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) per track.  (The PS3 prices were absent from the press release.)  Here are several of the tracks included on the Dr. Feelgood album, some of which gave Motley Crue their first #1 hits:
  • "Dr. Feelgood"
  • "Slice of Your Pie"
  • "Rattlesnake Shake"
  • "Kickstart My Heart"
  • "Without You"
  • "Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)"
  • "Sticky Sweet"
  • "She Goes Down"
  • "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)"
  • "Time for Change"

ROCK BAND Media Alert





Harmonix and MTV Games announced today Mötley Crüe’s album Dr. Feelgood will become the sixth album to join the Rock Band® Music Store catalog of downloadable content. The most successful album by the heavy metal band, Dr. Feelgood will be available starting October 14, 2008, for the Xbox®360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft and October 16, 2008, for the PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system. 


Mötley Crüe topped the charts for the first time with the release of Dr. Feelgood in 1989 and has since sold more than 6 million copies in the US alone.  The band recently reissued the infamous album alongside seven other of its chart topping albums.  The Rock Band DLC album will include the following tracks:


  1. "Dr. Feelgood"
  2. "Slice of Your Pie"
  3. "Rattlesnake Shake"
  4. "Kickstart My Heart”
  5. "Without You"
  6. "Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)"
  7. "Sticky Sweet"
  8. "She Goes Down”
  9. "Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)"
  10. "Time for Change"


Dr. Feelgood will be available for $15.99 (1280 Microsoft Points) for the album, or $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) per track. Purchasing the album will provide the user with the ability to play through the entire album in Rock Band 2’s different modes, including Quickplay, where the album will be called out in its own subheader, and Tour Challenges, where users will be prompted to play through all of the tracks in a standalone setlist. These tracks join “Saints of Los Angeles”, “Down at the Whisky” and “Face Down in the Dirt” previously offered as DLC, to bring the total of Mötley Crüe songs in the game to 13.


Dr. Feelgood joins the growing list of Rock Band 2 albums in the DLC music catalog, which includes Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Blood Sugar Sex Magik, Rush’s Moving Pictures, Megadeth’s Peace Sells… But Who’s Buying?, Pixies’ Doolittle, Judas Priests’ Screaming For Vengeance and The Cars’ The Cars. With the addition of the Mötley Crüe album there are now more than 300 tracks available to date via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band continues to fly off shelves and satisfy music fans and gamers' voracious appetite for rock with more than 21 million downloads since its launch on November 20, 2007.  The Rock Band Music Store allows players to preview and purchase downloadable individual music tracks and packs from the vast selection of offerings available to date without ever leaving the game as they build their own custom Rock Band library.

Rock Band and Rock Band 2 allow online play and features that expand the boundaries of music gaming. Rock Band downloadable content is playable and integrated into setlists in all game modes.  In order to play downloadable content for head-to-head matches or multiplayer online, all players must own the same downloadable track.  Downloadable content for Xbox 360 is available for purchase via Xbox LIVE® Marketplace for Xbox 360 using Microsoft Points and is downloaded directly to the hard drive of Xbox 360. Downloadable content for the PLAYSTATION 3 system's version of Rock Band is available for purchase on the PlayStation®Store through the free PlayStation®Network and is downloaded directly to PLAYSTATION 3 system's built in hard drive.

Rock Band 2 for Xbox 360 is now available nationwide and supports all previously downloaded content.  The groundbreaking music platform that forever changed the face of music video games is committed to taking gaming to the next level with the evolution of the franchise.  Rock Band 2 will be available for additional platforms later this year. 

Rock Band and Rock Band 2 are rated "T" for Teen (lyrics, mild suggestive themes) by the ESRB.

For more information on Rock Band2 and Harmonix Music Systems please visit  and

comments powered by Disqus