Megadeth buries Peace Sells ... But Who's Buying? in Rock Band Music Store

by: Randy -
More On: Rock Band 2
In 1986, Megadeth was peddling their occult-obsessed worldviews on Peace Sells ... But Who's Buying?, arguably at the height of their powers.  These guys were heavily preoccupied with evil, the dead, Hell, etc., (just in case you hadn't heard) and now over 20 years after admitting that Peace Sells, Megadeth will now see if the Rock Band 2 audience is indeed buying.  (Here's a hint:  If knowing that 1986 was 22 years ago makes you flinch, then you're their target audience.)  The title track is included on the Rock Band 2 disc, with the DLC album including the following:
  • Wake Up Dead
  • The Conjuring
  • Devil's Island
  • Good Mourning / Black Friday
  • Bad Omen
  • I Ain't Superstitious
  • My Last Words
"Wake Up Dead" is rapid-fire fingering and howling shreds, "The Conjuring" is a relentless countdown with distortion-choked vocals, "Devil's Island" flurries bat-like over a galloping landscape, "Good Mourning / Black Friday" performs like a solo flight on black wings.  All of this stuff is pretty serious axe-shredding material, though it's thankfully not relentless and numbing.  The full 12-track album will go for $10.99 (880 Microsoft Points), or you can skimp one track at a time for $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points).  Available Tuesday, September 18th.

ROCK BAND Media Alert



Harmonix and MTV Games announced today the addition of Megadeth’s album Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying? as the fourth album to join the Rock Band™ Music Store catalog of downloadable content. One of the most influential heavy metal albums of its time, Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying? will be available starting September 16, 2008, for the Xbox®360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft and September 18, 2008, for PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainmentsystem. 


Megadeth, a pioneer of the American thrash metal movement, has sold more than 20 million albums worldwide and continues to stand apart with their snarling vocals and distinctive guitar style. The seminal 1986 classic Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying? has sold more than one million copies nationwide, with the title track included on the Rock Band 2 disc with the DLC album including the following tracks:


  1. Wake Up Dead
  2. The Conjuring
  3. Devil’s Island
  4. Good Mourning / Black Friday
  5. Bad Omen
  6. I Ain’t Superstitious
  7. My Last Words


Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying? will be available for $10.99 (880 Microsoft Points) for the album, or $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points) per track. 

With the addition of the Megadeth album there are now more than 300 tracks available to date via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band continues to fly off shelves and satisfy music fans and gamers' voracious appetite for rock with more than 21 million downloads since its launch on November 20, 2007.  The Rock Band Music Store allows players to preview and purchase downloadable individual music tracks and packs from the vast selection of offerings available to date without ever leaving the game as they build their own custom Rock Band library.

Rock Band allows online play and features that expand the boundaries of music gaming. Rock Band downloadable content is playable and integrated into setlists in all game modes including: Solo Tour, Band World Tour, head-to-head competition either locally or online, and from any Quickplay mode.  In order to play downloadable content for head-to-head matches or multiplayer online, all players must own the same downloadable track.  Downloadable content for Xbox 360 is available for purchase via Xbox LIVE® Marketplace for Xbox 360 using Microsoft Points and is downloaded directly to the Xbox 360 hard drive. Downloadable content for the PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system's version of Rock Band is available for purchase on the PLAYSTATION®Store through the free PLAYSTATION®Network and is downloaded directly to PLAYSTATION 3 system's built in hard drive.

Harmonix, the world's premier music video game company in the world, and MTV Games, launched Rock Band 2 September 14, 2008, which supports all previously downloaded content.  The groundbreaking music platform that forever changed the face of music video games is committed to taking gaming to the next level with the evolution of the franchise.  Rock Band 2 will make its debut on Xbox 360 and be available for additional platforms later this year. 

Rock Band is rated "T" for Teen (lyrics, mild suggestive themes) by the ESRB.

For more information on Rock Band and Harmonix Music Systems please visit and  

comments powered by Disqus