News

The Showdown Effect receives free update

Posted by: Nathaniel at 5/7/2013 12:16 PM
Today, Paradox Interactive has announced that their multiplayer action title, The Showdown Effect, has received a major content update - and the best part is that it's free.  Starting today, players will be able to wreak havoc across two new stages, South Eastwood and Fort Fiesta, destroy their buddies with two new characters, Thelma Vaine and Dr. Johnny Bionic, and dress their characters in a collection of Reddit costumes that can be redeemed for free using in-game AC.  

Check out the trailer.  Follow the jump for more details.  Also you can watch a "steamdown effect" on Paradox's TwitchTV channel on May 7th at 8pm CEST at www.twitch.tv/paradoxinteractive.  

Also check out The Showdown Effect on the web, Facebook, Twitter, and Paradox's fan forums.
 


The Showdown Effect Gives Young Guns and Weird Scientists a View to a Kill
Free Content Update Includes Western Stages, Espionage and Sci-fi Characters, and Terrifying Hats

NEW YORK — May 7th 2013 — Paradox Interactive, a publisher of games and writer of checks their bodies can’t cash, today unleashed a monstrous content update for The Showdown Effect, the ridiculously explosive multiplayer action title from Arrowhead Game Studios. Featuring new stages, characters, and costumes, the update is available today for free to all players of The Showdown Effect.

For gamers who are not players of The Showdown Effect, Paradox offers two suggestions on how to become players of The Showdown Effect: defeat a current player in a sword duel and absorb their immortality and game collection, or purchase The Showdown Effect in today’s Daily Deal on Steam at a hefty discount.

In today’s update players receive two new levels, South Eastwood and Fort Fiesta, inspired by classic ‘spaghetti Western’ films – with an unhealthy dose of 1980s monster movies mashed into the mix. The levels are available for free and will be immediately available to pick in both ranked and custom matches. Players will also meet two new characters: Thelma Vaine, British super-spy with a cloaking device and a sharp tongue – and Dr. Johnny Bionic, a cyborg who must fight every day to keep his drill-saw-arm from murdering all humans. These characters, plus a series of Reddit costume pieces, can be redeemed for free using in-game AC. An additional set of Western costume pieces can be purchased for a fistful of dollars.

A streamdown effect will occur on Paradox’s TwitchTV channel on May 7th at 8 p.m. CEST (11 a.m. PDT, 7 p.m. BST, 6 p.m. GMT) to show off the new stars, stuff, and strangeness. Come to www.twitch.tv/paradoxinteractive if you want to live.

Read more:

Facebook: facebook.com/TheShowdownEffect
Web page: www.theshowdowneffect.com/
Twitter: twitter.com/ShowdownEffect
Forum: forum.paradoxplaza.com